MOTIF’s Blipfm Playlist

I know I have been harping on about this playlist…but I can’t help it.

Music is my first and truest love and I can be a bit of a pusher when it comes to good music.

So, we came up with the idea of having a MOTIF Magazine play list related to the theme of the issue.

I have used Blip.fm in the past and I think it is a nice, free, legal and easy way to listen to music and compile play lists.

As you all know our launch theme was NOSTALGIA.

In terms of fashion, food and fun stuff, it was too easy.

However, not so easy in the music department, because music nostalgia is really a very personal issue.

I get all misty eyed about songs like Boys II Men ‘End of the Road’. It was always the last song at the school disco and I never had a boy to dance with, or Billy Joel’s Vienna because we listened to that album on our camping tour of Europe, or something a little closer to the here and now, the entire Twilight soundtrack …because yes, like most romantics, I read, I saw, I enjoyed and it happened at a turning point in my life and has some pretty special memories attached to it.

OK, so I think I have demonstrated my point that nostalgic music is extremely personal.

So instead of boring you all with a trip down my own musical memory lane, I went with old-timey tracks (Roy Orbison, Elvis Presley, Aretha Franklin etc) and music inspired by old music (White Stripes, Kitty Daisy and Lewis and Royal Crown Revue). A vintage style playlist, if you will.

I thought some of you might be interested as to where I got some of the tracks from.

Well, I also love movies, and so with a keen ear for music and my eye on the big screen I have quite the collection of soundtracks. This is mainly where I got a lot of the songs from.

I picked songs from soundtracks to:

Crybaby (John Waters)

Goodfellas (Martin Scorsese)

Mermaids (Richard Benjamin)

Blue Velvet (David Lynch)

That Night (Craig Bolotin)

Swingers (Doug Liman)

and TV shows like:

Mad Men

Beverly Hills 90210

Go ahead and visit our MOTIF Mag’s Blip.fm Play list and check out the songs from and inspired by ye olde times.

Oh wait, remember this one ???????

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

